Top 50 Twitterers to Follow for Developers

(Note: this is an old list. The newer version can be found here.)

I'm very, very busy researching blogs for a new edition of the Top 100 Blogs for Developers. (BTW, you can still cast your votes… see my previous post.) However, I suddenly got the urge to find out the Twitter names of well-known authors of software development blogs and books. So, I did a little side-research.

Don't ask me why. It just felt good, I suppose.

Well, here's the list I came up with. It's definately not complete! I probably missed a number of very important people (with very obscure or hard-to-find Twitter names). Please don't blame me. Just add any celebrities I missed to the comments section of this post, so we can all choose to follow them!

Oh, and if you feel like it, why don't follow me as well?

# Author Url Followers
1 Jeff Atwood http://twitter.com/codinghorror 6560
2 Scott Hanselman http://twitter.com/shanselman 5161
3 Kathy Sierra http://twitter.com/kathysierra 5002
4 Michael Lopp http://twitter.com/rands 4392
5 Jason Fried http://twitter.com/jasonfried 4212
6 Steven Frank http://twitter.com/stevenf 2467
7 Jared Spool http://twitter.com/jmspool 2087
8 Dave Thomas http://twitter.com/pragdave 1862
9 Joshua Porter http://twitter.com/bokardo 1777
10 Dare Obasanjo http://twitter.com/carnage4life 1211
11 Jon Udell http://twitter.com/judell 1153
12 Jim Weirich http://twitter.com/jimweirich 847
13 Jeremy Miller http://twitter.com/jeremydmiller 723
14 Ed Yourdon http://twitter.com/yourdon 724
15 Michael Feathers http://twitter.com/mfeathers 691
16 Jeffrey Palermo
http://twitter.com/jeffreypalermo
690
17 Jim Benson http://twitter.com/ourfounder 673
18 Steven Harman http://twitter.com/stevenharman 670
19 Robert C. Martin
http://twitter.com/unclebobmartin
593
20 Kevin Dente http://twitter.com/kevindente 537
21 Ted Neward http://twitter.com/tedneward 506
22 Matt Raible http://twitter.com/mraible 495
23 Brian Marick http://twitter.com/marick 469
24 Omar Shanine http://twitter.com/omarshahine 450
25 Scott Rosenberg http://twitter.com/scottros 443
26 Joel Spolsky http://twitter.com/spolsky 433
27 Ben Simo http://twitter.com/qualityfrog 407
28 Des Traynor http://twitter.com/destraynor 359
29 Eric Burke http://twitter.com/burke_eric 356
30 Rick Skrenta http://twitter.com/skrenta 339
31 Alex Miller http://twitter.com/puredanger 322
32 Neal Ford http://twitter.com/neal4d 321
33 Leon Bambrick http://twitter.com/secretgeek 307
34 Ron Jeffries http://twitter.com/ronjeffries 301
35 Venkat Subramaniam http://twitter.com/venkat_s 278
36 Dave Hoover http://twitter.com/redsquirrel 274
37 Kent Beck http://twitter.com/kentbeck 241
38 Bret Pettichord http://twitter.com/bpettichord 226
39 Mike Cottmeyer http://twitter.com/mcottmeyer 222
40 Elisabeth Hendrickson http://twitter.com/testobsessed 213
41 Max Pool http://twitter.com/mpool 208
42 Chris Spagnuolo http://twitter.com/cspag 205
43 Debasish Ghosh http://twitter.com/debasishg 194
44 Mike Vizdos http://twitter.com/mvizdos 177
45 Jeff Sutherland
http://twitter.com/jeffsutherland
176
46 J.B. Rainsberger http://twitter.com/jbrains 163
(Yes, this would be my place,
if I were a celebrity…)
http://twitter.com/jurgenappelo
154
47 David Anderson http://twitter.com/agilemanager 118
48 Esther Derby http://twitter.com/estherderby 107
49 Michael Nygard http://twitter.com/mtnygard 87
50 Martin Fowler http://twitter.com/martinfowler 47

Oh, and did I already point out that you can follow me as well?
No worries, just checking…

Subscribe to this blog with a reader or by email!

Latest, greatest and favoritest posts:
Top 100 Best Books for Managers, Leaders & Humans
Top 100 Blogs for Development Managers (Q3 2008)
Top 100 Best Software Engineering Books, Ever

  • Call for Votes: Top 100 Blogs for Developers! (Q4 2008)
  • No, I Will NOT Call Your Ex-Boss
Related Posts
free book
GET MY FREE BOOK!
“How to Change the World”
  • Sébastien

    Nice compilation!
    I would add Tim O’Reilly to the list, he is VERY active and most links he points to are interesting reads (http://twitter.com/timoreilly).
    And I already follow you, but I wonder why.. 😉

  • http://ajlopez.wordpress.com Angel “Java” Lopez

    Another link
    http://twitter.com/migueldeicaza
    2571 followers

  • http://profile.typepad.com/6p01053639125d970c blog.nateschneider.com

    You missed David Heinemeier Hansson (>5000 followers)
    http://twitter.com/d2h

  • http://crazeegeekchick.com Dana

    you forgot me! 🙂 Dana Coffey
    http://twitter.com/crazeegeekchick

  • rmf

    How javascript guru and jQuery author John Resig? – http://twitter.com/jeresig
    He tweets about a lot of really interesting JS and browser projects.

  • http://ericis.com/ Eric Swanson
  • mendicant

    Oh. My. Goodness. People need to stop suggesting Jeff Atwood as a programming resource without an explicit disclaimer describing that he is an example of what NOT to do.

  • http://schambers.lostechies.com Sean

    @mendicant, +1 to that! why does everyone want to follow him? he really doesn’t have all that good stuff to say.
    you should follow me instead: http://twitter.com/schambers

  • http://blog.prokrams.com Michael

    I’m not so sure this is a list of developers you SHOULD be following, so much as a list of developers people ARE following… lots of popular names there, but I can get alot more good dialog with people with less followers…
    Still, an interesting list to be sure.

  • Joe Beck

    I agree with Michael. There’s only a small chance someone like Martin Fowler or Kathy Sierra will actually respond to a tweet from one of us mere mortals. Broadcasting is not very “Web 2.0”, IMO.
    I think some useful metrics here would be not just how many followers they have, but how many people they follow, and what percentage of tweets directed at them they actually respond to.

  • http://www.wildwestbeefjerky.nl Beef Jerky

    Nice compilation!
    I also agree with Michael. There’s only a small chance someone like Martin Fowler or Kathy Sierra will actually respond to a tweet from one of us.

  • Alesio Hari

    Nice list! I can recommend http://twitter.com/SeanNieuwoudt

How to Change the World - free Workout - free
CLOSE